|
Post by vikingarcher on Mar 25, 2019 4:21:39 GMT 1
In scenario 36, the command radius for the French when using the "without radios" rule is 1 hex. Does this mean that the only way to have all of the French in command radius is to have all of the French in one big crowd or did I miss something?
|
|
|
Post by Gustav6 on Mar 28, 2019 8:13:48 GMT 1
First of all, you have to distinguish between command span and command radius. Command radius is for command sharing. For units with Regulars or Green Grade, the command radius is 0 hexes, that is, units must be in the same hex if they want to share a command.
Command span is a radius measured from the HQ or HQs of a Formation. If units are within command span, you can assign orders normally. But if one or more units are beyond command span, you can assign only up to 1/2 of Move or Short-Halt orders of the total commands available for that formation.
If we talk about Without Radio Sets, we add another layer to the command rules. If units are subject to the Without Radio Sets, all units of a Platoon must share the same command, the command range for that unique command is 0, Platoons within a Formation cannot share commands, and finally spottings may not handed off to different platoons.
To sum up: in scenario 36, the French Lt. Armored Company is Seasoned Grade and has 23 combat units.
-If using only Basic command rules, you can assign one command on each unit. -If using Advanced Command rules, but not using command span and without radio sets rules, you have available a total of 14 commands, and each command has a command range of 1 hex. -If using Command Span rules, all units must be within 5 hexes of the H-39 CHQ unit. If one or more units are beyond that range, you have available 14 commands, but only 7 of them can be Move or Short-Halt commands. -If using Without Radio Sets rules, although you have available a total of 14 commands, you can only assign a maximum of 6 commands, because you have 6 Platoons, and all units of each Platoon must be in the same hex. In addition, Command Span is limited to 1 hex, so if one or more units are beyond that command span, you are limited to 1/2 of Move or Short-Halt commands.
|
|
|
Post by vikingarcher on Mar 29, 2019 1:23:21 GMT 1
...and if using the crew size rules, subtract one from the number of available commands. This what I thought but I wanted to be sure.
|
|