In all versions of the rules, spotting refers to the ability to spot an individual enemy unit. My question is simply, if trying to spot a stack of say three enemy tanks in one hex, is that stack considered a unit in and of itself or are you having to attempt to spot each tank individually? This question arose as I was teaching a friend of mine to play Panzer and he asked me the question. I told him him I thought it was only just the one individual tank but his question did arouse my curiosity.
If you use rule 7.7.1, make one spotting attempt per enemy unit. Use the friendly unit that has the best probability of spotting the enemy unit and apply modifiers per freindly unit supporting the attempt. Each enemy unit has to be spotted, even if they are in the same stack.
If using rule 7.7.2, once all spotting attempts are made, each friendly unit can only maintain the maximun number of spots as determined by the spotting table.
Example: two friendly units stacked in the same hex, a recon unit and a tank, both regulars grade, try to spot four enemy tanks stacked in the same hex. The enemy tanks are in medium cover and all of them have a spot/move counter. Maximum spot range is 20. The range to the stack is 7 hexes, which is less than 1/2 the spotting range. The recon unit is used to try the spottings. A 60 or less is needed to spot each unit, but the modifier is +20 (+10 for the Recon unit, and +10 for the additional friendly unit spotting). The recon units rolls a 45, a 58, an 85 and a 12, so three out of four enemy units are spotted. Now each friendly unit chooses which two of the three enemy tanks are mantained spotted. Only those units chosen can be fired using direct fire.